If You Love Water Sports

 

If You Love Water Sports, Maybe it is Time to Love What is Beneath the Surface

By Darren Shepard

I became a Certified PADI Open Water Diver at the age of 18 years old while taking a P.E. Credit in college. I have always loved the water and the idea of becoming a certified diver to take off on a few adventures made a lot of sense to me.

Actually, my first experience scuba diving was with my family on a short vacation in the Ozarks on Gerry’s Ferry lake when I was 16 years old in 1982.  I was taught about the gear and actually made a couple of shallow dives with family members to just see what it was like. I do not recommend doing this today and certification is not only necessary but required.

Over the years, I have been fortunate to take a few trips, including in the Bahamas, Jamaica and certainly several areas in Florida. In addition, I have made many fresh water dives in several larger lakes and reservoirs at the right time of year as well.  My biggest problem is with so many outdoor interest from fishing, boating, hunting and more, I never seem to have enough time to make as many dive trips as I did when I was younger.  Plus, I need to keep current with my dive logs, practice and up keep of gear.

What I do know, is my wife and I have been planning a trip for some time and the opportunity to dive again is approaching. Interesting to me, I had to reach out to PADI (Professional Association of Diving Instructors) to get another copy of my certification so I can begin getting things in order for a trip later in the year.

In addition, my son and step daughter expressed interest in learning to scuba dive as well. I found it interesting, but with our families love of the water and outdoors it only makes sense.  Plus, at the age of 15 years old or under, PADI offers a Junior Open Water Diver Certification as well.

With so many vacation options for so many of us that love the water, what an interesting idea to make sure that our kids learn about what is beneath the surface of the water instead of just fishing in it or tubing on top of it.

Some of the most brilliant colors, fish and adventures for me have been while diving. Especially in shallow water such as in the Florida Keys, where sunlight offers the brilliance of coral colors that everyone would be in awe of during the dive.

If you love the water and so does your family, maybe checking into scuba diving is a great option for you. It certainly beats having the kids playing video games or messing with their phones all of the time. Plus, getting started is easy and this is a great time to do so in order to get everyone certified for a great summer diving vacation.

Check out PADI (Professional Association of Diving Instructors) website for more information and a list of instructors close to you. www.padi.com

 

Original Source: Sportsmans Lifestyle.com

Entertainment

Oscar Isaac and Christian Bale Co-Star in WWI Docudrama

  The Promise DVD Review by Kam Williams Oscar Isaac and Christian Bale Co-Star in WWI Docudrama It's Eastern Turkey in 1914, which is where we find druggist Mikael Boghosian (Oscar Isaac) plying his trade in his half-Armenian/half-Turkish village where Christians and Muslims get along swell. The ambitious, young apothecary would really … [Read More its Good for You...]

Books

Book of Black Heroes

  Book of Black Heroes Political Leaders Past and Present by Gil L. Robertson, IV Foreword by Myrlie Evers-Williams Just Us Books Paperback, $12.95 80 pages ISBN: 978-1-933491-21-9 Book Review by Kam Williams “The first African-American political leaders began to serve following the Civil War...Known as Reconstruction, this period … [Read More its Good for You...]

Art

The Day After the Day Of

  The Day After the Day Of by Paul Ilechko   The sky sheds its tears. This morning is the morning of the day after. The day of mourning, the day after the day of.  I beseech the sky to shed tears in order to wash away the tears on my face.   This is the first day of the time after. This is the beginning of a new time, the … [Read More its Good for You...]

Real Estate

Real Estate: Refinancing Rates on the Rise in 2017

  Real Estate: Refinancing Rates on the Rise in 2017 by Amy Lignor   The term ‘meteoric rise’ usually applies to something fun. Think: A Hollywood actor who has been ‘discovered.’) Unfortunately, when it comes to this article, ‘meteoric rise’ is something that will not bring a smile to one’s face. To put it simply, if you wish to refinance … [Read More its Good for You...]

Lifestyle

Healthy Living: The Cellphone Guide

  Healthy Living: The Cellphone Guide by Amy Lignor   Much like the political realm, there will always be debates and disagreements when it comes to the technological realm—especially when it comes to your health versus the almighty cellphone. Now, it is a fact that communication in the 21st century literally brought about a … [Read More its Good for You...]

Outdoors

Choosing Binoculars for the Ultimate 2017 Hunt

  Choosing Binoculars for the Ultimate 2017 Hunt Any hunter will tell you the most important choices to make when going for that ultimate successful hunt comes from the little things. Yes, the guns, the location for the hunt, the clothing that’s best for the winter and/or summer hunt – all of these things are on the hunter’s ‘must-buy’ list. … [Read More its Good for You...]

Sports

Esports on a Meteoric Rise in 2017

  Esports on a Meteoric Rise in 2017 by Amy Lignor   Okay…we all know that football is America’s favorite sport. Or…is it? NASCAR has a wide following. People still love to go to the ballpark in the lazy summer days to watch a Yankee hit a homerun. There are those who love to practically melt in the summer watching the Williams’ … [Read More its Good for You...]

Business

Is Social Media Still Growing?

  Is Social Media Still Growing? by Amy Lignor   It was in 1999, Bill Gates wrote a book titled, “Business @ the Speed of Thought.” Within these pages, the man who became the computer world’s wizard made massively bold predictions that, at the time, sounded ridiculous and outrageous to those who read them. But when you look at how the … [Read More its Good for You...]

Travel

Vacation Locations: Knowledge is Fun Too!

  Vacation Locations: Knowledge is Fun Too! by Amy Lignor   Most children (and adults, too) will either roll their eyes or sigh when, while speaking about vacation locations, the word “learning” just happens to be mentioned. Yes, it is a fact that school trips take all of us during our younger years to everything from museums to … [Read More its Good for You...]